Ah , the dreaded first blog post. Anyway, come on in, take a seat next to the fire and pour yourself a large brandy. Please make yourself at home.

Welcome to my little corner of the blogosphere!

I’m a 40 something Historical Wargames enthusiast, I enjoy painting and collecting 1/72 scale (20mm) miniatures. I’ve been gaming on and off for about 40 years. Back then there was really only ¬†Airfix and Esci and that was about it. Nowadays we’re spoilt for choice. I’ve dabbled in most scales and historical periods; Napoleonic, American Civil War, Anglo Zulu War, WW1, WW2, Cold War, The Falklands Conflict and Modern.

I game 20mm Napoleonics with Blackpowder rules adding a few tweaks to aid the smaller scale. I also enjoy Bolt Action (also in 20mm) & Saga (28mm) for a bit of a change now and again.

I always seem to come back to Napoleonics though, I think it’s the uniforms and tactics and of course the cavalry. I’m a little obsessed with all things equine so I thought I’d indulge my passions and obsession in a blog.

I also enjoy Command & Colours Napoleonics, I certainly think the card driven feature creates a fairly realistic fog of war, plus its good to go straight out of the box which is nice not having to paint 10,000 miniatures before you can even open the rule book.

I had a crazy idea back in 2013 to recreate the Battle of Waterloo in time to coincide with the 200th Anniversary. Suffice to say I didn’t get anywhere near it due to real life getting in the way. I also found I was pretty obsessive when it came to making sure the uniforms were correctly painted, so the research took far longer than I first thought.

Call me an old-fashioned, bluff old traditionalist but I could never field an ‘unpainted’ army. Unthinkable! The Waterloo project is still a work in progress, as you’ll see.

Like most blogs, this one is intended as a journal of my thoughts & musings, as a reference and research collection area but also to chart my progress. I’d also like to share my journey with you in case it can be of any use to anyone. Im hoping to make this into the blog I wished was online when I first started my Waterloo project.

Anyway, that’s it from me, if you have any questions or observations please feel free to drop me a line in the comments section. Hope you enjoy reading my blog.

